About the Annual Duval Awards

This blog is a long time coming. In 2008, the idea of the Shiitake Awards was born, an annual awards show (much like the infamous Razzies) that highlighted the WORST stories of people who use registry laws and Predator Panic for personal gain. This awards blog is the antithesis of the Shiitakes. Here, we celebrate the BEST stories of those who stand up against registry laws and Predator Panic. Much like the Shiitakes, we will have categories and an annual vote that coincides with our Annual Shiitake Awards. I had discussed doing this in the past but I feel that 2018, ten years after the Shiitakes were created, is as good a time as any. 

This awards show is named in honor and in memory of Mary Duval, an activist and former CEO of SOSEN.org, the support and education site. Mary was one of the central people responsible for helping our anti-registry movement rise to prominence. However, much like the Shiitakes, this award is an independent project organized by OnceFallen. 

We hope that the Duval Awards inspires people to become better activists. To that end, we feel that having a financial incentive would help. To that end, we are going to give a cash award to the person who wins our annual "Everyday Activist" Award. The rules are as followed:

  1. An "Everyday Activist" can be a MEMBER of an existing group, but NOT a STAFF MEMBER of an existing group (i.e., NARSOL, ACSOL, even OnceFallen; this extends to the selection committee for the awards). 
  2. Submissions for an Everyday Activist should be mailed to Derek Logue at iamthefallen1@yahoo.com
  3. It is not necessary for an Everyday Activist to make the news, but having a news article helps. Keep in mind whatever you write will be added to the blog. At the least, it is necessary to write a couple of paragraphs explaining why your nominee deserves the Everyday Activist Award. 
Submission Deadlines are every year at December 21, and any submissions after 12/21 carries over until the next year. The Selection Committee will consist of 5 to 7 people who are not nominees for the Everyday Activist Award. Voting takes place in January. 

No comments:

Post a Comment